Augustin Hadelich, violin

Brahms Violin Concerto

The Grammy Award-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich makes his Festival debut with Brahms’ Violin Concerto. The evening opens with a world premiere commission by Chicago composer Stacy Garrop and Shostakovich’s breakout First Symphony. 


Grant Park Orchestra
Carlos Kalmar, Principal Conductor
Stacy Garrop, Composer-In-Residence
Augustin Hadelich, Violin


Stacy Garrop: Shiva Dances (World Premiere)
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 1
Johannes Brahms: Violin Concerto

Download Program Notes PDF

Friday's concert is being broadcast live on 98.7WFMT and streamed live at

Learn about free seating options >

The City of Chicago has implemented a security perimeter and bag check policy for all concerts at the Jay Pritzker Pavilion. Changes have also been made to venue opening times and the prohibited items list.