John Adam's Chairman Dances & Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10

These works focus on two of the 20th century's political giants in radically different ways. John Adams' short orchestral work about Mao is drawn from his opera Nixon in China and Shostakovich's cathartic symphony was written in the wake of Stalin's death. This program is part of the Soviet Arts Experience festival.


Grant Park Orchestra

Carlos Kalmar, Conductor


Adams: The Chairman Dances (from the opera Nixon in China)  Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10, Op.93

Download Program Notes PDF

This event is sponsored by:

Soviet Arts Experience